I can remember the days when time allowed a moment to actually get my cutting board messy in the kitchen.  Lately, it’s been a good one if I even step foot in a kitchen. The new job is forcing new eating routines. I’m learning to adapt to this challenge. No longer can I run to my kitchen for lunch and easily prepare a vegetarian meal based on the abundant veggie options that are kept readily available. Instead, I’m forced to put all insecurities aside and embrace my vegetarian lifestyle in situations that may not support it. Life is happening and it’s encouraging growth.

Growth is good.

Sometimes I’ll make food based on its expiration date. The spinach in my fridge was on its last whim, so I respected it by eating it.

This was a 50/50 salad. 50% fresh, 50% frozen and perfect for the hard working, wanna-be-good-to-your-body eaters out there. There was that one time I made fresh cut sweet potato fries, but let me remind you that this was when time ticked in my favor. The fries for this salad however, came from the second 50. The freezer. As did that pretty, fake grill-marked veggie patty.

salad podge:

spinach. red onion. bell pepper. tomato. sweet potato fries. veggie burger. balsamic vinaigrette.

I can’t decide if I loved this salad for the flavor or for the convenience. You decide.

